Queen And Duke Celebrate Royal Railway Anniversary and Companions of Honour

On this day in 1842, Queen Victoria became the first reigning British monarch to travel by train, travelling from Slough (near Windsor Castle) to Paddington Station in London. Today, on the 175th anniversary of this milestone, Queen Elizabeth and the Duke of Edinburgh repeated the same journey.

For this historic trip, Queen Elizabeth repeated her coral straw cloche variation with linear crown and short brim. The punchy, dark coral straw accent on this piece, above the paler straw hatband and on the looped bows, gives life and movement to the piece and the feathers contrast beautifully against the matching coat’s austere neckline. I’ve said before that the ensemble hits just the right balance of flourish and restraint- something Rachel Trevor Morgan does so very well, time and time again.

Designer: Rachel Trevor Morgan
Previously Worn: May 22, 2012July 30, 2011  

This evening, the couple attended Evensong Service at Hampton Court Palace to celebrate the Centenary of the founding of The Order of the Companions of Honour, an award limited to 65 individuals at any one time, each who have made  a major contribution to the arts, science, medicine or government. Queen Elizabeth repeated her straw hat with lavender straw “split crown” and short, white straw brim piped in lavender. A lavender straw knotted hatband edged in a stripe of white straw completes thie piece along with a coordinating spray of feathers. The balance of these two colours has always worked well on this hat and it plays wonderfully off Her Majesty’s floral dress.It’s not my favourite shape but it’s a lovely enough summer hat.

Thoughts about these two straw summery hats on Queen Elizabeth today?
Photos from Getty as indicated
14 thoughts on “Queen And Duke Celebrate Royal Railway Anniversary and Companions of Honour

  1. Both outfits are excellent. The coral is a little more elegant looking, but the lavender coat and hat are an excellent color, and all the trim on the AK hat rather obscures the split crown effect. (So why bother?) On the lavender hat I really like the effect of a white brim, letting more light shine through on the Queen’s face.

  2. I love both ensembles very much. She even changed her gloves yesterday! I agree with Jake, that it is so nice to see some oldies back in the rotation. The coral hat is perfection. My only minor quibble is with the black shoes/purse. The 2011 wedding pictures were much nicer with the off-white accessories, IMO. Lavender is a great color for HM.

  3. The RTM coral is so pretty. HQ’s assessment — “just the right balance of flourish and restraint” — nails it.

  4. I find myself less inclined to quibble about the Queen’s hats these days. She seems to be pulling out all her favorites lately and she looks absolutely beautiful. Hat Queen, you have a wonderful way of describing her hats, and you find so many great pictures for us to enjoy–thank you!

  5. I was so happy to see the return of the Zara wedding hat! I can’t recall it being worn since then, although I could be wrong. It’s a beautiful hat, and as always, RTM has a stunning eye for detail.

    While not executed quite as well, the lavender purple hat is still a winner in my book, and glad to see another oldie make a return! It’s not often we get two hats in one day from HM, so this was a treat!

    • It did get another outing, she wore it to a garden party in 2012 I’d guess. I think another time too but don’t recall…

    • Well, actually she seems to wear only two pairs of shoes these days, and these look like the “other pair,” the ones usually worn indoors. They’re worn for all receptions and meetings at the palaces, as well as for occasions with little walking. Why they were chosen yesterday I don’t know, but I think these are a little more stylish than her usual loafers, which apparently must be more comfortable.
      I believe that the handbag is one of her standard Launer handbags, although she has so many slightly different versions. (Just think of all the colored handbags she could have if she didn’t have so many virtually identical black patent ones!)

      • Ha, ha and there was me thinking I was observant. I thought her handbag always had a top clasp. I suppose I’ve seen the shoes and bag so many times my eyes now just slide right over them. I appreciate your detailed knowledge and thanks for sharing!

      • Oh, and a thought on why she’s wearing her ‘inside’ shoes … my brother lives on a farm and occasionally works in a city. He was halfway to town one day when he realised he was still wearing his slippers! (I expect she has plenty of people checking her, but it would be fun to think it could happen.)

  6. How nice to see both of these hats out again, I actually thought they may have been retired by now. The peach is a stunner and I think it really suit some her colouring, she really glows underneath it. A great example of RTM’s deft hand with the trimming. And the purple is another favourite – debuted on her 2010 Canada tour, which was the source of many of her best hats for some years. I don’t mind the split crown shape and the trim is the right side of fussy for this.

    I hope we’ll see a few more old favourites soon; Holyrood Werk is usually a good bet for that.

  7. Yes to the shade of lavender on HM – no to the hat shape. I love the peach shade, but it sure washes HM out – and oh my! She needs to get a new shade of foundation – I’ve been noticing she looked tan of late – but the peach photos esp. show off that horrible line of demarcation between her foundation and her neck. Oh horrors!

Leave a Reply

