Royal Ascot 2017 Day 3: Dubai Royals

Royal Ascot | Royal Hats After waiting all afternoon for photos, I’m finally able to share Princess Haya’s hat today- a large, tomato red picture hat with gigantic roses covering the entire brim.

 

Designer: unconfirmed but my guess is Philip Treacy
Previously Worn: It’s Haya- it’s always new!

Princess Haya shared this family photo which shows Sheikha Jalila in a royal blue vertical saucer hat trimmed with a cluster of butterflies on the underside of the raised brim. Jalila wore a similar hat in white yesterday- jump back to this updataed post to see it. 

18 thoughts on “Royal Ascot 2017 Day 3: Dubai Royals

  1. This is a statement hat for sure! I love the total red look. Not until the larger family photo that I see the dress Haya is wearing is quite short. I prefer the longer hemlines on her myself. Jalila’s hat though very similar to her previous hat I adore the cluster of butterflies. It adds a sense of fun for someone her age!!

  2. I definitely don’t like the placement of Princess Haya’s hat, in particular the flowers on the hat. But if there’s anyone who could get away with such a hat, it’s Haya! she can carry off hats successfully that almost no one else could. And she always seems to do that at least once or twice during Ascot!

    Sheikha Jalila is clearly learning millinery style from her mother! I was shocked to discover that she’s only 9 years old, however — she’s already getting a curvy figure like her mother! She’s a darling little girl, and clearly the apple of her father’s eye; I look forward to her further adventures with hats at future Ascots. It will be fun to watch her grow up under her mother’s expert tutelage.

    • Good point about last year’s red hat, Jake. That looked so much lighter, and you could actually see the shape of the hat instead of just the flowers.

  3. I appreciate the big statement hats at Ascot, but this one is a little overwhelming. I agree with Louise E that the placement is too horizontal. Once again, I appreciate that Jalila’s hat has a young look.

  4. Superb color for the Princess! She looks gorgeous. My complaint of the hat is that I think the roses tend to deflate a bit and look crushed, which diminishes their éclat.

  5. I absolutely adore Princee Haya’s style. She truly go for the statement pieces. I love the color of this hat and I think she’s a standout. Sheikha Jalila’s hat is quite fun and I’m loving her style choices for Ropyal Ascor.

    I love the family photos of the Dubai Royals. They seem very close. The Dailymail had a photo of the Sheikha Jalila getting her nose pinched by her father, which was funny.

  6. I am not sure about Haya’s hat. I love the color, but I don’t quite like the hat itself. I do like the family picture!

  7. Those butterflies look familiar. Is Jamila wearing a hat formerly worn by her mother (can’t imagine that), or have I seen this or a similar design elsewhere?

    • Princess Beatrice wore a Phillip Treacy hat with butterflies to Peter and Autmn Phillips’ wedding. Is that what you remembered?

  8. Beautiful x 2. Mother and daughter have been doing very well. If Jalila truly takes after her dear Mama, she will be able to carry off most hats with poise.

  9. Jalila rocking the Treacy butterflies! this hat suits her perfectly. And the mother-and-daughter look with those very similar dresses is sweet.
    I’m so happy to see Princess Haya right on form with another OTT statement hat. Gotta love those massive blooms and the way the petals droop over the edge of the brim. I imagine her having a phone conversation with Mr Treacy some months ago, sort of like this:
    P Treacy: Your Highness, I have already designed a one-off hat with you in mind which no-one else has seen. May I send you a photo of it?
    P Haya: What sort of hat is it, Mr Treacy?
    P Treacy: It’s quite simple – a wide round platform, overflowing with gigantic roses the size of lettuces, and the whole thing is fire-engine red.
    P Haya: I’ll take it.
    BTW, here’s a fuller view of Haya’s and Jalila’s outfits. Note Jalila yet again mirroring her father’s stance – so cute!

  10. I am no expert but the word that comes to mind is…placement. Too horizontal? Too just plonked on top? Please…if I am wrong feel free to disagree.

Leave a Reply

