Day 4 of Dutch State Visit To Italy

While we’re waiting for the last of the Ascot photos to become available, let’s jump over to Italy for the final day of the Dutch state visit. King Willem-Alexander and Queen Máxima were in Milan again today, where their programme included visits to a gallery, design museum and exhibition bringing together the work of Dutch designers with Italian weavers. For these events, Queen Máxima wore a new hat in textured, natural straw. The piece features a small, short crown and wide, brim with shallow pleats on either side, giving it a more organic shape. It is simply trimmed with a flat, multi-looped bow in caramel satin that lies over the brim pleats on either side of the hat with extending ribbon tails that extend to the edges of the brim.

Embed from Getty Images Embed from Getty Images Embed from Getty Images Embed from Getty Images Embed from Getty Images Embed from Getty Images Embed from Getty Images Embed from Getty Images Embed from Getty Images Embed from Getty Images

Designer: unconfirmed. Dress by Australian brand Zimmermann
Previously Worn:this hat is new
Photos from Getty as indicated
19 thoughts on “Day 4 of Dutch State Visit To Italy

  1. My initial reaction was GOLDEN! The coloring is a golden hue! I love the dress and especially the hat. I am glad it isn’t decorated with frills since it looks best with just the ribbon. Beautiful!

  2. I ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS OUTFIT!!! The color is perfect for Queen Maxima, the hat is fabulous and I quite like the pleats and ribbons. The shallow crown seems to be the newest hat shape this season and although I couldn’t stand Princess Eugenie’s black LP record hat at Ascot, I do like this one VERY much.It reminds me of hats during the 1700’s when the hats had ribbons that tied under the chin. Hair, make-up, gloves, jewelry, bag and shoes are spot on for me. I agree with HatQueen that the shoes are the right color and style and when in Milan you have to step it up a notch and take a chance.

  3. This could look a bit messy with a lot of omthat colour but Maxima pulls it off. And I love that story, they really seem like nice people who like to just live a normal life when they can. I bet the saleswoman was delighted with that day’s sales!

  4. Max is certainly getting her boho on in Italy!
    I’m enjoying all the low-crowned wide brim hats, we’ve been seeing lately, and it’s fun to see another intriguing example with some interesting detail — not the least being the roughness of the straw, which adds to the shepherdess vibe.
    I’m not yet sold on the placement however. I hope we see it again, worn at a different angle
    And thanks for the Zimmermann story, HQ. It must be fun for royals to go occasionally go shopping incognito, just like regular citizens – something they could never get away with in Europe! and so sweet to hear of W-A ‘s interest in what his wife wears.

  5. I think this is the most glorious dress and hat combo of the year. Q.M. appears a vision in gold and caramel. Every woman should have a hat that frames and shows off their face in such a perfect way. Shall I go on? I LOOOVVVEEE it.

  6. Just saying that I like it sounds pretty in adequate after Jake’s detailed analysis. It does seem a little droopy, as though it’s not going to hold up for many wearings. Great texture in the straw, and overall a nice change from the standard Maxima slice. It complements the dress well.

    Interesting about the shallow crown — doesn’t it seem as though we’ve seen a lot of those this week?

    Very fun story about the royal shopping spree!

  7. I agree with Jake. The dress is gorgeous. And the hat works well from the left side. But from the front and the right, the hat looks too flat and droopy. The gold tone of the hat matches the dress perfectly.

  8. Love the back story. Had to come up with a new word to describe what few other people beside Queen Maxima can achieve — winsome.

  9. What a lovely story. I’d drop dead if I walked into a store and saw one of our royal ladies.

    I like the dress, I love the hat. The shoes are where everything falls apart!

  10. I like the dress and love the hat and am a fan of Queen Maxima’s style. However, I sometimes question her choice of shoes. A pretty shoe is ruined when your toes don’t fit the shoe. I think a lower heel would help.

  11. I get an Asian vibe from this – from the print of the dress to the whopper-jawed coolie hat. I like it, but half of the people won’t get to see her beautiful, smiling face.

  12. Overall this is a great ensemble, and the dress is beautiful! The hat feels mid-20th Century Italian to me (in a good way), and I like it when viewed from under the brim, but I’m not quite as thrilled when I look at the topside; the trim could’ve been done much better, and I think a slightly deeper crown would’ve helped too. The severe angle is fun when viewed from the left, but not so much from the right; so a little less angle would be good, and I would trim off some of the back brim, which seems unbalanced compared to the front. Ok, so that sounded much more nitpicky than I imagined haha!

    • I had not noticed the back brim, but you are exactly right! I don’t care for the ribbons covering the pleats, like they think that is a mistake. No, I like the pleats, not the ribbon. Dress is nice, but the shoes, wish hubby had said nah, to them!

  13. She looks wonderful. The dress is beautiful, the hat and accessories hit all the right notes. This is one of my favorite Maxima looks, and the story was delightful. They sound just like I imagined them to be. I loved the king sitting there saying, yeah, nah, yeah, nah. My husband is not that patient and we never like the same things!

  14. This is more like it! The whole look is smashing, though I am not entirely decided about the hat. Its extreme placement would certainly prevent members of the public from seeing the queen’s face if they happened to be on her right side. The caramel satin bow seems oddly positioned. The color is surprisingly pleasing, given its closeness to the queen’s hair–but she looks glowingly bronze. The dress is beautiful–perfect really. Thank you for sharing the story of its purchase!

Leave a Reply

