Royal Ascot 2017 Day 4: Princess Eugenie

Royal Ascot | Royal Hats Princess Eugenie wore her second navy straw saucer hat in as many days for Day 4 of Royal Ascot today. This design features anther upsweptbrim and is decorated with hand sewn yellow flowers around the front of the hat. And yes- it’s nearly a twin of the hat she wore yesterday.

  
  

Designer: Bundle McLaren. It looks to be a bespoke version of Giselle from SS 2017
Previously Worn: this hat is new
Photos from Getty as indicated
17 thoughts on “Royal Ascot 2017 Day 4: Princess Eugenie

  1. Wow, another bold look from Princess Eugenie,all praise to her for pairing a two-colour hat with a multi-coloured dress.
    At first sight I wasn’t sure about the pronounced angle of the hat’s brim, but I love an unusual take on a standard, and the brim’s strong line has since grown on me. The only reason this is not another knockout look for me is the dress. I can see why Eugenie might fall in love with the gorgeous print and fabric, which looks amazing on her, AND with the hat — but, sadly, the shapelessness of this frock is profoundly unflattering — as well as being too casual in style to elevate this gorgeous hat. Eugenie is at her awesome best with structure, as we saw with the red dress she wore yesterday.

  2. The shape of this hat is quite different than the one she wore yesterday. I liked the overall look of yesterday’s outfit better but it was because I like the red dress better, not the hat! I actually like this hat better! Eugenie looks great in this large sweeping brim and this hat is another winner for her. I do hope it’s not borrowed so there’s a chance we’ll see it again!

  3. It’s interesting that, given the basic similarity in concept that you point out, HatQueen, this hat has such a different vibe from yesterday’s! The upsweep of the brim makes a huge difference. I think it’s a very classic shape (and I think Eugenie wears it at a flattering angle, any further back and it would look much less sophisticated – although possibly more practical!)

  4. This look is fun. I’m not sure about the flowers on the hat, with the way the brim curves up, you wouldn’t even be able to see them if the hat wasn’t straw or unless you were looking at her from the side. But I like the colors together.

  5. I agree that the shorter hairstyle looks very nice on Princess Eugenie. The color, shape and decoration on this hat makes it a winner for me. I love the contrast of the navy blue and the yellow flowers. At first I didn’t like the print on her dress, but on further reflection I changed my mind. She looks very fresh and young and can still get away with wearing the shorter dresses. Her purse matches her ensemble as well as her shoes; very well styled I think. I believe one of the pictures is of her and her boyfriend who matched his yellow tie to her outfit which looks very nice indeed. Good job!

  6. My biggest problem is how far forward this hat is sitting on Eugenie’s head; push it back an inch or so and we’d be in business! My other major complaint is the original version of this hat had so many feathers, which I think would’ve improved this look greatly. I like her dress, and think the color coordination between it and the hat was done very well.

    • Those feathers are fabulous, but would they be too much with the print dress? The shape of this hat is really great for her, but I think I prefer yesterday’s overall.

  7. Like the hat, looks great on her and the colours are very flattering. But the dress print is horrible, too big and dominant. And if her dress is covered in massive irises why does she have daisies on her hat?

  8. This hat and color palette really suit Eugenie. She looks very pretty, and I wouldn’t change a thing. This is a great look for her. The dress fits very well, and everything is perfect. I like the new shorter hairdo on her. It really frames her face nicely.

Leave a Reply

