Reader Guest Post: Musings On Repeat Royal Hats

I’m very happy to welcome longtime reader JamesB back to Royal Hats for Part II of his musings about the hats seldom worn by Queen Elizabeth that he’d like to see repeated. His post today continues directly from Part I, published last week.  

III. The wintry numbers

As I said in Part 1, Queen Elizabeth’s winter wardrobe seems to get more wear, but we’re still awaiting the return of
these, although those two furry numbers are only going to get out when it’s proper chilly. I very much hope the lovely brown titfer will get an outing soon, it’s perfect for autumn.

Embed from Getty Images
Opening Church of England General Synod Nov 24, 2015. Hat by Rachel Trevor Morgan

Embed from Getty Images Embed from Getty Images
Christmas Day, December 25, 2010. Hat designer unknown

Embed from Getty Images
Christmas Day, December 25, 2015. Hat likely by Angela Kelly

IV. The special occasion

Of course, sometimes it’s a very special occasion and a very special hat is needed, which do tend to just be seen once. This is when Angela Kelly goes mad and produces something particularly festive. An oblique brim is a particular favourite here. I’d love to see the Commonwealth Games one again personally, the rest of them did the job, but they lack the finesse that Rachel Trevor Morgan brings.

Embed from Getty Images Embed from Getty Images
Diamond Jubilee Service of Thanksgiving on June 5, 2012. Hat by Angela Kelly

Embed from Getty Images Embed from Getty Images
Thames Diamond Jubilee River Pageant, June 3, 2012. Hat by Angela Kelly

Embed from Getty Images Embed from Getty Images
Diamond Jubilee Armed Forces Parade and Muster, May 19, 2012. Hat by Angela Kelly

Embed from Getty Images
Commonwealth Games Opening Ceremony, July 23, 2014. Hat by Angela Kelly

Embed from Getty Images Embed from Getty Images
Coronation 60th Anniversary June 4, 2013 and 90th Birthday Thanksgiving Service June 10, 2017. Hats by Angela Kelly 

The ‘well at least we gave it a go’s…’

She’s still mixing it up at 91… we won’t all be able to say that! Do they all work? Well no (in particular those polka dots are a bit of a worry), but I hope some of them return. I’ve got a particular liking for the green with that fabulous fluoro print, and the black and green is quite striking. And finally, remove those peacock feathers on the last hat and I reckon we’re in business!

Embed from Getty Images
Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting, Nov 28, 2009

Embed from Getty Images
Visit to Turkey May 13, 2008

Embed from Getty Images Embed from Getty Images
Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting, Nov 28, 2009; Royal Ascot, June 19, 2010. Hats by Angela Kelly.
Embed from Getty Images
Royal Maundy Service on April 21, 2011. Hat by Angela Kelly.
Embed from Getty Images
Visit to Germany, June 25, 2015. Hat by Angela Kelly.

So there you have it. I can’t say they should all be repeated, but this is just a very small selection of the hats we’ve seen just once over the past 10 or so years. Of course I myself am not one to talk – for my stag weekend last year (bachelor party to you on the other side of the pond), my friends knew of my love of regal headwear so the Queen’s hats was our theme – I’m in the middle, resplendent in green, and I can’t say I’ve ever worn that little number again!

Reader submission | Royal Hats

James- thank you so much for making these suggestions and taking us back to a number of hats not seen before on Royal Hats. I’m also surprised we’ve not seen the last hat with peacock feathers repeated by now and wonder if we’ll ever see any of the Diamond Jubilee hats worn again or if they’ve been packed away in the royal archives. Only time will tell. 

Stay tuned for more reader posts coming up with suggested repeats not only from Queen Elizabeth’s hat wardrobe but from the millinery closets of Queen Maxima, the Duchess of Cambridge and the Countess of Wessex, to name a few. If any of you would like to write a post along these lines, please let me know. 

Photos from Getty as indicated and from the private collection of JamesB

14 thoughts on “Reader Guest Post: Musings On Repeat Royal Hats

  1. Another excellent post, thanks so much JamesB. I should really get on with some work and stop ‘sleuthing’, but I think she wore the cream fur hat a second time a few years after its first appearance- have a look at this link-http://www.dailymail.co.uk/femail/article-2915668/Health-safety-officials-force-Queen-change-Sunday-worship-plans-Majesty-s-choice-church-Sandringham-estate-closes-plaster-falls-ceiling.html
    But it’s only ever been seen at Sandringham church, and I would love to see it out more often in winter. Thanks for the really great post!

  2. I personally love the last hat with the peacock feathers, and the Commonwealth Games hat was really good, but seems like it calls for another special occasion (maybe Trooping 2018?). Thanks JamesB for all your fun insights here and on every post!

  3. Fantastic selection, JamesB, and I particularly agree that the Diamond Jubilee hats ought to be seen again, but perhaps because they were associated with such a special occasion, they will remain stored away and not be just part of the rotating wardrobe.

    Only one thing missing from this post — a bit more detail about the crown, brim and trimmings on your own wonderful green hat!

  4. Thanks from me, too, JamesB! I agree with you on the first hat, which reads charcoal rather than brown, on my monitor. It would work for some of the more somber events. I’d love to see both the lime with yellow bow and the black with lime trim again.

  5. James, I so enjoyed your posts. I have also been waiting for the first grey hat and the last blue and green one with peacock feathers to be worn again. It’s probably just a matter of time. The black and lime green hats are such a change from what the Queen usually wears I guess it’s not surprising they weren’t repeated much but it’s a real shame.

  6. Great post! I’ve never seen those neon green and black hats and they are great! It would also be great to see some from the Diamond Jubilee worn again.

  7. What a great post! Those green and black hats were new to me! I would love to see the blue Maundy Service one again. The blue and aqua one would be beautiful without the peacock feathers! Thank you JamesB! I enjoyed both of your posts and that green hat you are wearing is smashing! 🙂

  8. Thank you, James. I agree with you that the brown, the green, and the blue (minus feathers) would all be good hats to repeat.

  9. James, there are a few of these hats that I’d love to see on another outing, but fun to see them all. Thank you for the guest post!

  10. James B: first of all, congratulations on your upcoming nuptials!

    I love the photos you’ve shared…and I love the saturated colors on Her Majesty the best.

    • Thank you! My wedding was last year and it all went wonderfully… and of course we (politely!) suggested ladies might like to wear hats; which they did!

  11. James, this has been a real treat! Your knowledge of all things “hattish” is truly amazing, I know we all look forward to your comments in the future. I tip my hat to you!

Leave a Reply

