The Queen Hosts Scottish Garden Party

Queen Elizabeth hosted her final official Garden Party of 2013 at Holyrood House in Edinburgh today. Despite a downpour, The Queen looked lovely in a pale aqua textured straw hat trimmed with a dove grey silk rose and arrow feathers. The colour combination of this hat is somewhat unexpected but I think it lends modern touch to an otherwise very traditionally shaped hat. What do you think of this hat?

Embed from Getty Images Embed from Getty Images
Embed from Getty Images

Designer: Rachel Trevor Morgan
Previously WornJune 13, 2012; and October 19, 2011 

Photos from Getty as indicated

4 thoughts on “The Queen Hosts Scottish Garden Party

  1. She looks lovely. Gray on aqua works for me – I use them in mani’s together a lot. I always have problems with ‘arrow’ detail on hats…just makes me cringe…but I understand the use for design/balance. Least here, I don’t feel I want to reach for scissors and trim em down as usually do, esp when used on a smaller hat. Kate has a navy one that the ‘arrows’ drive me nuts on.

  2. Another elegant RTM hat; and also much seen. I also wonder if the outfit is Stuart parvin, as his designs have a certain elegant restraint to them. Much preferring the Scottish looks than the slightly over-fussy outfits she sported at Ascot (day one’s and five aside.)

Leave a comment