Scandinavian Crown Princesses Meet in Norway

Last Friday, May 9, Crown Princess Mary of Denmark met Crown Princess Mette Marit of Norway in her home town, Kristiansand to commemorate the 150th Anniversary of the Battle of Heligoland.

Crown Princess Mette Marit and Crown Princess Mary, May 9, 2014 | Royal Hats

Crown Princess Mette Marit wore a fascinator headband that featured an large, flat navy dahlia flower. She seems to have a soft spot for these embellished headbands and while this one is more attractive than some of the others we have seen on her, I’m not entirely sold on this millinery look.

Designer: unknown
Previously Worn: May 30, 2011; March 4, 2006; May 10, 2005

Crown Princess Mette Marit, May 9, 2014 | Royal Hats Crown Princess Mette Marit and Crown Princess Mary, May 9, 2014 | Royal Hats

Crown Princess Mary repeated her black wool beret-style calot hat. With her tweed suit, the overall look was very streamlined and elegant.

Designer: Susanne Juul
Previously Worn: November 8, 2012;  November 7, 2011

Crown Princess Mary, May 9, 2014 in Susanne Juul | Royal Hats  Crown Princess Mary, May 9, 2014 in Susanne Juul | Royal Hats

These two crown princesses seemed as happy to see each other as we are to see them, which always tickles my fancy. Between the fancy fascinator and the stremlined calot, which one of these royal hats was your favourite?

Crown Princess Mette Marit and Crown Princess Mary, May 9, 2014 | Royal Hats

Photos from Albert Nieboer / DPA / Abacapress via Paris Match

17 thoughts on “Scandinavian Crown Princesses Meet in Norway

  1. Crown Princess Mary’s hat is alright, I suppose… I think she looks a bit too strict here, though. That high neckline and the tight chignon and the plain black hat on the back of the head… Looks rather school-teacher-y.

  2. Hello all. I too noticed the change of sides for Mette Marit’s fascinator. As I am an avid royal watcher I have a couple of sites I go to for videos of royal engagements and I can confirm that MM changed the headband sometime during the day, much to my amusement. Why? I wonder. I like MM in these headband things, but that could be because she is one of my favourites. She looks like a very hands on and loving mother to me. Thanks

    • Thanks for the clarification Louise Elizabeth – she certainly had us all guessing? I wonder if the royals play “tricks” on the press and royal watchers to keep themselves amused and us puzzling?

  3. I don’t mind Princess Mette Marit’s headpiece. It’s cute but not too girly or young. The only problem is that dayglo pink lipstick. Princess Mary looks so elegant, again. I always have to remind myself she married into royalty and wasn’t born into it because she looks so comfortable and is so naturally elegant.

  4. Just Googled images from the occasion – almost every photo shows the flower on the right side of MM’s head … but a very few show it on the left side …

  5. Thanks HatQueen, I suspected photo “mirroring” too but that is actually a big no-no for press photographers (and they hate it when layout subs flip their photos). Just another of life’s small mysteries.

  6. Mary looks great as usual. While I like the headband fascinator in itself, a regular hat would have elevated MM’s look. However, she just doesn’t seem to go for hats. Too bad!

  7. I noticed, like Sandra, the dahlia in the fascinator appears to have switched sides. How interesting. But once again, M-M just doesn’t quite hit the mark. A plain white blouse under the coat would have looked better than the dress. However I do like the fascinator.

  8. I think the two ladies should have switched hats. The facinator would add a nice soft look to the suit and the button looking hat would add to the other outfit. (just a thought).

  9. What the …? In the bottom two photos the flower has changed sides!?! Sure MM didn’t have time to turn her headpiece around during proceedings?
    I think Mary wins this one hands down. Elegant as always (although in one photo I thought there was some sort of pom-pom at the back of the hat. Closer inspection may reveal that it’s a tree waaay in the background, so far back it looks fuzzy. Not sure.)

    • Good observation! I suspect the photo was inverted for release for some reason. This does not look like the kind of headpiece that can be easily switched sides!

Leave a comment