Day 2 of Cheltenham Festival

Zara Phillips also attended the second day of racing at the Cheltenham Festival today. Like yesterday, Zara took this opportunity to debut a new hat. Described by the designer as a “classic black velour fur felt hat trimmed with three Rosie Olivia loop lace ruffles”, this beret-base cocktail hat is all about height and texture. The simplicity of the ruffle, made in the designer’s signature open looped lace, shows again that a strong single embellishment can have much greater impact than numerous smaller embellishments mashed together. This small hat is anything but small in style and when paired with Zara’s graphic black and white collarless coat, made for a sophisticated and modern ensemble. I think Rosie Olivia is a great designer for Zara and I hope this collaboration continues!

11 thoughts on “Day 2 of Cheltenham Festival

  1. Zara looks strikingly good. The hat has just the right proportions to lift it from being just another boring little cocktail number. The rest of her outfit is very classy too. I think this is one of Zara’s best looks ever.

  2. Like several others I too prefer larger hats, and I agree that what looks like a cocktail hat doesn’t quite seem suitable for this event. Nonetheless, this is a fantastic hat, and Zara’s ensemble is striking.

  3. Wow, I am absolutely loving this! What I love about Cheltenham is the chance to see fancy tweed and fancy winter hats on display other than for the Christmas holiday. I hope Zara continues to pull out looks and hats like this, because she looks amazing!

  4. Cute hat but it’s too much of a cocktail/dressier hat for this outfit and the event — and I do like to see Zara in larger hats which she seems not to favor vs these little numbers

  5. I am also not generally a fan of those tiny hats, but on Zara, it is delightful. She looks young, trendy, and absolutely adorable. The hat and coat look great together. A home run for Zara.

  6. Zara looks fabulous. I am not usually a fan of cocktail hats, but this one has the height and trim to stand out and really suits Zara well. I am not usually a fan of collarless coats, but the graphic design and the cut are excellent, and combine successfully with the hat. I agree with HatQueen that Rosie Olivia is a great designer for Zara and I also hope this collaboration continues!

    • I think you are right Alex. I think this is one of Zara’s best efforts yet and I would love to wear all she has on.

Leave a comment