Dutch Monarchs Kick Off State Visit to Denmark

King Willem Alexander and Queen Máxima arrived in Copenhagen this morning for the start of their state visit to Denmark. As we come to expect with such high profile events, Queen Máxima arrived sporting a new hat. Clearly designed to compliment her amazing embellished grey coat, Máxima’s coordinating grey felt calot hat is trimmed simply in a band of grey velvet around the edge of the hat. The grey velvet creates the appearance of a small, upfolded brim and adds a textural contrast to the hat. It is a simple hat but one that looks elegant on her and perfectly compliments her embellished coat.

Queen Máxima, March 17, 2015 | Royal Hats  Queen Máxima, March 17, 2015 | Royal Hats

  Queen Máxima, March 17, 2015 | Royal Hats  Queen Máxima, March 17, 2015 | Royal Hats

Queen Máxima, March 17, 2015 | Royal Hats

Designer: unknown. First guess for Máxima’s hats is always Fabienne Delvigne
Previously Worn: This is a new hat

Queen Margrethe also wore a new hat today. Made of purple felt, her slightly domed pillbox is trimmed with a triple band of black sequins around the perimeter of the hat with a spray of black feathers and black sequin looped bow on the side. I thought the balance of colour in this ensemble was very well done (the hat tied Margrethe’s purple dress and black fur jacket together beautifully) and the use of sequins on the trim were restrained enough not to venture too far into showgirl territory.

Queen Margrethe, March 17, 2015 | Royal Hats

Designer: unknown
Previously Worn: This is a new hat

Dutch State Visit to Denmark March 17, 2015 | Royal Hats

Later today, we’ll look at hats worn by Crown Princess Mary, Princess Marie and Princess Benedikte.

Photos from Getty as indicated and Splash News, Patrick van KatwijkPatrick van KatwijkPatrick van Katwijk, Patrick van Katwijk, Patrick van Katwijk and Patrick van Katwijk via Corbis

15 thoughts on “Dutch Monarchs Kick Off State Visit to Denmark

  1. I like Queen Maxima´s hat but it doesn’t mix with the oversized coat which to my eyes looks like religious vestments. I also don’t understand why she wanted sequins on a day outfit. Weird! Margrethe looks good and this hat is a vast improvement on her others.

  2. I love Queen Margrethe’s purple and black outfit. Her new hat is sassy but still elegant.

    I have looked very close at Queen Maxima’s coat and it is a work of art. Her navy dress matches so well. The only thing I wonder if how she sits down in the coat? It must be very uncomfortable to sit on. The hat is cute but I prefer when she wears hats in brighter colors.

  3. Maxima’s hat looks like an airline stewardess. I’m sorry but I don’t like it at all. Her coat looks like it belongs to a bishop. I don’t think the hat and coat go together at all.

  4. I will always believe Maxima looks better in wider-brimmed hats, so these smaller creations will never be my favorite. Nevertheless, I think dove grey is a gorgeous color for her and the simplicity of this hat helps balance the detailing on her coat (which, after 5 minutes of debate in my head, I’ve decided to love). Margrethe will never win in the hattery stakes, but I think this one is a nice addition to her collection; although in the couple of very small photos I had see previously, I thought is was more electric blue than purple (I blame myself for only looking at Twitter on my phone before).

  5. I like Queen Maxima´s hat by itself but I find it too small in proportion to that gigantic coat. The coat looks like she borrowed a chasuble, it´s just too much in every way.

  6. Maxima’s coat is haute couture and looks the part. I love it! I wish there was one of the blue crosses embroidered on the hat but it’s fine as is. This outfit is ALL about the coat.

    Margrethe’s hat is fine. Not boring but not stellar. That’s an improvement over most of her other hats and something to celebrate. Love the purple!

  7. Maxima’s coat looks good from a distance. It may not hold up in the closer photos, but it seems made for making an impression at an event where the crowd is kept out of reach, as this seems to have been. LOVE that hat and hairstyle on her!!!!

    Daisy looks very Daisy, very happy. I don’t like that hat or outfit as fashion, but they seem right for her, so I like them on her. Is it a little Kooky Aunt? Absolutely. But I adore kooky aunts. They bring the right kind of fun to all the family get togethers.

  8. I love Queen Maxima’s hat, and she looks beautiful. I keep going back and forth on the coat. It is a little over the top, but on the other hand, on her, it looks good. It isn’t somethin I like, but she pulled it off beautifully, so I would score it a success. I did like Queen Margrethe’s hat very much, and I love purple, so I loved the pictures.

  9. While Queen Máxima’s coat does look a little like something one might wear for a medical procedure or perhaps somewhat a cult leader would want to be photographed in, her hat goes beautifully with it, and the coat itself certainly is interesting, to say the least. I kept staring at it because it’s fascinating. The simple gray calot goes well enough with the dress alone, I guess, since all her accessories are gray.
    Queen Margrethe does look like herself. The view from the back is the best. The hat does complement the colors of the dress and coat perfectly.

  10. Hmm. I like the idea of Max’s coat. If it fitted that is – it swamps her and those kimono sleeves don’t behave well. Good that she went understated on the hat though, it complements well.

    Daisy looks like Daisy, the hat could be a repeat, as it picks up themes from many others, but overall I like what she’s wearing today.

    Most of all – just so nice to see how delighted they all are to see each other!

  11. Oh dear – Max’s arms on that coat are really odd – not a fan of it but I do like her hat. I’m not at all a purple person but I do like Queen Margrethe in this color/hat

  12. Like Queen M’s hat. I would like to see her hair pulled tighter though. The coat is unique. Wondering if any of the trim designs are symbols?
    Queen M is such an intelligent geuine person. I would like to see a new hairstyle and better fitting clothes. Her hat has possibilities.

Leave a comment