Catching Up With The Imperial Royals

Last week, Princess Hisako of Takamado was in Wakayama to take part in the closing ceremony of the 15th National Sports Festival for People with Disabilities. She showed off a new hat for the occasion, a brimless moulded piece in dark purple felt with a slightly pointed crown. It looks like the hat is trimmed in a small spray of feathers on the left side. I adore the rich colour on Hisako and like the shape of the hat on her. It’s certainly an improvement over the hat she last paired with this suit.

Princess Hisako, October 26, 2015 | Royal Hats    Princess Hisako, October 26, 2015 | Royal Hats

Designer: unknown. 
Previously Worn: I believe this hat is new

On Saturday, Emperor Akihito and Empress Michiko attended events celebrating 40 years since the founding of the United Nations University. For this anniversary, Empress Michiko repeated her slate blue saucer hat with blue and gold origami bow. This is the third time we have seen this hat so far this year and I suspect that many of you, like me, are liking more with each outing. The Empress looks lovely in blue and the gold trim on the hat ties so well with the gold lapel and cape lining on her jacket.

Empress Michiko, October 30, 2015 | Royal Hats

Empress Michiko, October 30, 2015 | Royal Hats

Designer: unknown. Likely a milliner at Akio Hirata
Previously Worn: May 17, 2015;  April 9, 2015

 

Photos from Sankei and Getty as indicated

6 thoughts on “Catching Up With The Imperial Royals

  1. I love that Princess Hisako is always the rogue in the Japanese Imperial Family and has the most interesting wardrobe! This hat looks great on her (it’s not an easy style to pull off) and makes her suit look much less busy. The Empress looks wonderful once again and rarely seems to make a wrong choice sartorially.

  2. Princess Hisako’s hat looks great. She really suits the purple colour and the size, shape and placement are perfect. I find her suit too busy. Empress Michiko is wearing a sweet little hat and as usual it reminds me of origami sculpture. They look cute on her, and I like the navy and gold colours combined here in her hat and elegant suit and as usual she has dressed in a fashion unique to herself.

  3. I like Princess Hisako of Takamado’s purple hat and I would like to wear this myself. The shape is interesting and it’s nice and simple, and the fabric and the color do the talking. I’ll pass on the suit. As HatQueen stated, this hat looks better with this suit than that boater she had on last time. The Empress looks good in the blue and gold, and her little origami trimmed saucer hat is typical of her style. I couldn’t pull off this type of hat, but she can.

  4. I agree completely, Chuck. I had a career with the government in Washington, D.C. and I had my “uniform” of a solid-colored black or dark blue silk suit with a light-colored shell or simple blouse, pearl or modest sized gold earrings and necklace, and unadorned leather shoes the same color as my suit (ditto matching small briefcase-type bag). I never stood out in a crowd but knew that no matter where the day took me — Capital Hill, executive offices, corporate headquarters — I would be appropriately dressed. I also found that, because I needed a limited number of each of items, I could afford to buy a much better quality of clothing. To me, wearing great well-made and well-designed clothes always made me feel more confident.

  5. I’ve said it before about the UK royals and will say it here about the Japanese royals – they sure like a uniform. In many ways, we that watch the fashions et al of the various royals try to discern differences in their styles and designs when, it all reality, most all of them find something that is comfortable to each of them and stick with it. God bless the Empress – she loves a saucer hat and some sort of similar two-piece suit. And the Emperor – same double-breasted suit every time you see a photo of him. My hypothesis on this is that their clothes act for them exactly like a uniform and, in many ways, wearing a “uniform” takes away decisions from their daily lives and lessens the chance of poor choices they might make if they truly chose their clothes each day.

Leave a comment