Luxembourg National Day Part 2

The Grand Ducal Family of Luxembourg celebrated their country’s National Day yesterday at an annual Te Deum service that saw a wonderful parade of hats. After looking at the designs worn by Grand Duchess Maria Teresa and Princess Stèphanie, we now turn our focus to the remaining Luxembourgish princesses.

Princess Claire topped her pastel eyelet lace dress (ironically, the same one Crown Princess Mette-Marit wore in Norway yesterday) with a large floral headpiece in palest pink silk. As far as headpieces go, this one is fine enough but it’s pairing with this prairie dress feels juvenile and twee. Call me crazy but I think I prefer the dress with Mette-Marit’s floral wreath.

Princess Claire, June 23, 2016 | Royal Hats Princess Claire, June 23, 2016 | Royal Hats

Princess Claire, June 23, 2016 | Royal Hats  Princess Claire, June 23, 2016 | Royal Hats

Designer: unknown
Previously Worn: this hat is new

The statement hat of the day was again worn by Princess Tessy, who topped a fabulous lace dress in a pale green avant garde hat. Consisting of a large circle of folded straw, the hat is trimmed with a mass of pink and burgundy flowers and feathers on the very top. I imagine the scattered petals placed within the hat’s fold are meant to tie in with the top trim but instead, I’m afraid they end up looking random bits escaping a giant straw taco.

Princess Tessy, June 23, 2016 | Royal Hats Princess Tessy, June 23, 2016 | Royal Hats

Princess Tessy, June 23, 2016 | Royal Hats Princess Tessy, June 23, 2016 | Royal Hats

Designer: unknown
Previously Worn: this hat is new
Princess Alexandra topped her eyelet lace dress with a rose-beige straw hat. The design features a Pork Pie shaped crown, floppy brim and grosgrain ribbon hat band finished at the side with a flat bow. There are some issues with this piece- the colour is blandly nondescript, the brim is too floppy, the striped straw is not refined- but somehow, I’m left liking how it works on Alexandra. In the end, it’s an interesting millinery idea that falls short a little in execution.
Princess Alexandra, June 23, 2016 | Royal Hats  Princess Alexandra, June 23, 2016 | Royal Hats
Princess Alexandra, June 23, 2016 | Royal Hats    Princess Alexandra, June 23, 2016 | Royal Hats
Designer: unknown
Previously Worn: this hat is new
That wraps up all of the royal hats we saw at this event! There were very mixed opinions for those worn by the Grand Duchess and the Hereditary Grand Duchess- what is your take on the tree above worn by these Luxembourgish princesses? What hat stood out to you most of all the ones we saw for National day yesterday?
Grand Ducal Family of Luxembourg, June 23, 2016 | Royal Hats
Grand Ducal Family of Luxembourg, June 23, 2016 | Royal Hats

16 thoughts on “Luxembourg National Day Part 2

  1. The dress code memo for these events got lost in the mail, everyone was all over the place. I don’t think anyone looks great except M-T and even so that color does nothing for her.

  2. Princess Claire’s flower is ok although I’d prefer a hat. I appreciate Princess Tessy wearing a statement hat but it looks like a taco on one side and a giant bow on the other. If Princess Alexandra’s hat had been made of stiffer straw in a cartwheel shape with a square/flat crown, that would be much better. Of the 3 princesses here, I like Alexandra’s the most.

  3. Maria Teresa’s hat looks nice from a distance and on the upswept side, but close up it doesn’t flatter her face. Stefanie looks like she has a head wound; a big rose glued to the side of your head is not a hat. Tessy and Alexandra had the best hats.

    • I agree with what LadyLou says: June 24, 2016 at 7:24 pm. Despite its problems, Princess Alexandra’s hat won overall I think. Princess Tessy gets my second prize, and although it looks rather like a taco, it is still a more interesting hat than the rest.

  4. Princess Tessy for the win! That red petal at the front had me confused, so it is not a 100% win, but I like the spirit of it.
    Love the rose in Princess Claire’s hair, but it doesn’t match the dress. I don’t mind the dress for Princess Claire’s daughter, but it doesn’t look like it should be worn by an adult.
    I agree with all that Princess Alexandra’ s hat was much too casual for this event.

  5. The shape of Tessy’s hat has promise. I like the swoopy airiness of it, but it looks creased and the trim does nothing for it.
    My favorite of this batch is Claire’s rose (in itself; don’t like the dress). It is a gorgeous representation of a rose, the petals and pale pink are delicate, the size and placement are perfect. I much prefer this rose to the flat, coiled percher rose we saw recently.

  6. I’m sure I’m in the minority, but I love Princess Tessy’s hat. It’s so different and she wear it so well. It doesn’t overpower her, which I think it would with slot of people.

    I like princess Alexandra hat for a beach party, but not a church service.

    And Princess Claire looks like she stepped out of the pages of Little House of the Prairie and the rose does nothing for the outfit.

    • HA! Claire’s dress totally looks Little House on the Prairie. No hat can really save it. Like her rose but it needs to be with a sleek dress.

      I also really like Tessy’s hat. It’s so brave and fashion forward.

      Alexandra’s dress is adorable but it’s ruined by the beach hat.

  7. Alexandra’s hat, with the dress, is perfect for a fairly sophisticated beach picnic or barbecue. It doesn’t suit the occasion at all. Claire’s headpiece has promise, but looks awful with this dress. I do agree about the petals, but Tessy’s hat is a proper hat, it’s interesting and she carries it off really well. A definite winner.

  8. I’m glad to see the longer skirts this year. As for the hats, Princess Tessy wins by a mile, although Princess Claire’s rose is lovely, but the dress seems like a costume for Little House on the Prairie. I’m sorry to say that the beige floppy hat looks so cheap, like a dime store hat. Princess Tessy’s hat is lovely–so swoopy. I think more flowers would be better, a la Carmen Miranda!

  9. I love Princess Tessy, although I’m with everyone else on the remove-the-floating-middle-petals bit. The other two ladies have really unsuccessful outfits/hats in my opinion. I wouldn’t be sorry not to see that eyelet dress on anyone ever again, and at least MM gave it some colors with the floral wreath.

  10. I don’t find that dress flattering for Claire at all; if this flower fascinator was paired with another outfit, I think I would like it a whole lot more. Disappointing, because we’ve seen Claire in some beautiful hats in the past.

    I always appreciate Tessy’s willingness to go crazy with her millinery style. This hat is almost there, but I agree the petals look too random; remove them, but keep the feather trim on top and we’d have a winner. What I really don’t like are her earrings, and her makeup is way too heavy for my tastes, which emphasizes the mistakes of the earrings and the random petals in my opinion.

    Don’t care for anything Alexandra is wearing; how is she always the worst dressed of the family? This is definitely a beach hat, not appropriate for church; the unstructured paper straw is not good for this occasion. Her dress is also very confusing to me.

    Overall, a very disappointing turnout for this event for me.

  11. I like Princess Alexandra’s outfit the best. The sun coming through the hat making stripes on her face and then the roundish square eyelets of the dress make for an interesting contrast.

Leave a comment