Day 3 of Cheltenham Festival

Zara Phillips Tindall attended the third consecutive day of racing at the Cheltenham Festival and used the occasion to début another new hat. This navy cocktail hat is described by the designer as an “elegant velour felt beret with feather wing design, quill and velvet/organza handmade rose.”  The colour is beautiful on blue-eyed Zara and I adore the contrasting textures (feathers, silk, felt, quills, velvet). The hat’s trimmings lend both height and an old world charm to this hat, giving it a vintage vibe. It is such a contrast to the cocktail hat we saw Zara wear yesterday but again, it is wonderful on her.

Designer: Jane Taylor. It is the “Contra” design
Previously Worn: This hat is new

Lady Gabriella Windsor was also spotted at the races today. She repeated a vibrant royal blue felt hat with indented crown and raised brim around the back of the hat. The stunningly simple design was trimmed with a slim leather band around the based of the crown that knotted at the side. While the indented crown of this hat is slightly reminiscent of a cowboy hat, the divine colour and beautifully curved brim balances this feature well. It’s a strong hat looks effortlessly chic on Lady Gabriella.

Designer: Philip Treacy
Previously Worn: December 1, 2012

Photos from Getty as indicated

14 thoughts on “Day 3 of Cheltenham Festival

  1. I like Zara’s hat today 100% more than yesterday’s hat. But all bundled up (it must be very cold) with a coctail hat doesn’t go together IMO. Lady Gabriella has turned into such an elegant young woman with Alexandra’s look to her. I don’t see her take many chances any more will hats, but stays very classic. It suits her.

  2. I think Zara looks great in blue, which makes her eyes really stand out. I like the hat and the dress, but it doesn’t make any sense to me to wear a fur wrap at Spring races or with this particular outfit. I do like her friend’s burgundy hat too. Lady Gabriella Windsor’s hat looks good and the color compliments her well, but I do wish that she had worn something in the same color on her outfit to tie it in better.

  3. I am absolutely loving both of these hats! Zara pulls out another great cocktail style in a navy that’s not too dark. Gabriella can always pull off a wide brim, and this cobalt creation is no exception. I do agree with Peggy that I wish Gabriella had worn a different color outfit. I’m also not a fan of Zara’s fur collar wrap; it’s a bit too over-the-top for me.

  4. I love Zara’s hat! Not such a fan of Lady Gabriella’s, although it does suit her. What I’m dying to know is where Zara’s friend’s hat is from… I love the colour and the design; very elegant!

  5. I like both of these hats, but my favorite is Lady Gabriella’s. She really does take after her father’s side of the family, which is only fair since her brother looks like his mother! I get a really cheerful vibe from Zara. She has a very happy and engaging personality.

  6. Zara appears to just enjoy life, and more power to her. I think she looks wonderful. I like Lady Gabriella’s hat but I wish her suit/coat/sweater were a darker blue or a darker hue to coordinate with the hat. The discrepancy in the dark hat to the light suit bothers me.

  7. Oh I LOOOOOOVE Zara’s hat today. This is a major DO! She looks fantastic. She really ought to wear blue more, it makes her eyes just pop! The other two were misses for me – mostly because of the outfits. I don’t love the large funnel-necked coats with those hats. I love the spot of fur with this as well!

  8. I love Gabby’s hat — Zara’s hat today gets a better nod from me today than the hat she debuted yesterday – today’s hat is just a tad larger, covering more of her head that for me, makes it more flattering on Zara. Still would like to see her not in cocktail hats for the races.

Leave a comment